THURSDAY 8/3/2017

FEDERAL:

Oppose Trump and GOP Immigration Bill

Since they failed on health care, conservatives are now taking aim at immigration policy, this time looking to slash the numbers of green cards and legal immigrants to this country. Playing on the same fear tactics and misinformation he deployed during the campaign, Trump is painting immigrants as criminals, using the old red herring that new arrivals are taking jobs away from Americans. This bill looks to protect so-called skilled workers in industries such as tech. This logic is baffling, because the supposedly lower-skilled workers he wants to deny do precisely the jobs American citizens turn their nose up at, such as farm labor. You don’t need a college degree to pick watermelons, but to work all day in hot fields at incredibly high work rates demands a skill set and work ethic many natives cannot imagine. It is incredible to think that just four years ago we were on the cusp of a real bipartisan initiative in the Senate to reform the immigration system. Now, with the likes of Kelly, Bannon, Sessions, Trump, and their allies in Congress in charge, we have descended into nativist, racist fearmongering. On this issue Thom Tillis for one has paid lip service to the idea of immigration reform. Let’s call our reps and force them to take a stand one way or another on this terrible proposal. Background:

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/post-politics/wp/2017/08/02/trump-gop-senators-to-introduce-bill-to-slash-legal-immigration-levels/?utm_term=.64b3c48d6127

SCRIPT:

I am a constituent calling from _________ to ask Rep./Sen. __________ to make a statement opposing the new bill, promoted by the president, that would severely curtail legal immigration to our country. While our immigration system does need work, the president’s proposal is based on misinformation and scare tactics. Does the Rep./Sen. support or oppose this measure?

Protect Civil Rights. Demand that Congress Denounce DOJ Rollback

Trump and his racist advisors have done it again. In perhaps the most cynical move of his embattled tenure, Jeff Sessions is directing the DOJ department of civil rights to begin a crackdown on universities that discriminate against white students. You read that correctly. Though controversial, affirmative action has been ruled constitutional time and time again, as long as racial quotas are not the only factor determining admission. Stepping back from the details, the symbolism of a white man from Alabama named Jefferson Beauregard Sessions gutting an office meant to protect civil rights is an affront to decency. It is also flat-out racist. Centuries of slavery, decades of Jim Crow, a civil rights struggle played out largely in Alabama, and in living memory of some of its heroes, this is what we have become? There are many petitions circulating around this issue, but we think Congress should speak out about this issue. Are our representatives going to stand on the sidelines while this measure proceeds? Or will they speak out? Let’s force the issue by calling them. For a deep dive into the nuances of admissions policies, read this piece:

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/grade-point/wp/2017/08/02/trump-administration-is-taking-aim-at-affirmative-action-in-college-admissions-why-it-wont-fix-whats-broken-with-the-application-process/?utm_term=.088a94c478f6

SCRIPT:

I am a constituent calling from _________ to urge Rep./Sen. _________ to speak out against Attorney General Jeff Sessions’ plan to use his office of civil rights to go after colleges and universities who supposedly discriminate against white students. This notion comes from the fringes of the alt-right, and has no place in serious political discourse, let alone policy. What is Rep./Sen. _____________’s position on this policy?

Tillis

DC: (202) 224-6342

Charlotte: 704-509-9087

Greenville: (252) 329-0371

Hendersonville: (828) 693-8750

High Point: (336) 885-0685

Raleigh: (919) 856-4630

Burr

DC: (202) 224-3154

Winston-Salem: (800) 685-8916

Rocky Mount: (252) 977-9522

Wilmington: (888) 848-1833, (336) 631-5125

Asheville: (828) 350-2437

NC-1 G.K. Butterfield

DC: (202) 225-3101

Durham: (919) 908-0164

Wilson: (252) 237-9816

NC-2 George Holding

DC: 202-225-3032

Raleigh: 919/782-4400

NC-3: Walter Jones

DC: 202-225-3415

Greenville: (252) 931-1003

NC-4 David Price

DC: (202) 225-1784

Raleigh: (919) 859-5999

Chapel Hill: 919.967.7924

Fayetteville: 910.323.0260

NC-5 Virginia Foxx DC: (202) 225 2071

Clemmons: (336) 778 0211

Boone: (828) 265-0240

NC-6 Mark Walker

DC: (202) 225-3065

Greensboro: (336) 333-5005

Graham: (336) 229-0159

NC-7 David Rouzer

DC: (202) 225-2731

Bolivia: (910) 253-6111

Smithfield: (919) 938-3040

Wilmington: (910) 395-0202

NC-8 RIchard Hudson

DC: (202) 225-3715

Rockingham: (910) 997-2070

Concord: (704) 786-1612

NC-9 Robert Pittenger

DC: (202) 225-1976

Charlotte: (704) 362-1060

Mooresville: (704) 696-8188

NC-10 Patrick McHenry

DC: (202) 225-2576

Black Mountain: (828) 669-0600

Gastonia: (828) 833-0096

Hickory: (800) 477-2575

NC-11 Mark Meadows

DC: (202) 225-6401

Hendersonville: (828) 693-5660

NC-12 Alma Adams

DC: (202) 225-1510

Charlotte: (704) 344-9950

NC-13 Ted Budd

DC: (202) 225-4531

Advance: 336-998-1313

STATE:

Redistricting Committee Needs Public Comment:

This week, a court ordered our legislature to draw maps immediately. During the proceedings, the GOP claimed it need more time in order to consider public comments. Given its track record of making maps in secret and having little regard for public opinion, this is probably both a stall tactic and a dog-and-pony show. However, giving this feedback is an excellent chance to shine a light on the issue. Keep in mind that while the latest decision gives us new maps now, it does nothing to rectify the opaque, partisan process by which maps are drawn in general. Several  outstanding proposals are out there, and we need to win this battle in the court of public opinion. So we encourage you to submit comments directly to the redistricting committee, but Twitter is also a good choice. Our strategy includes tagging committee chair David Lewis, as well as some influential reporters who cover Raleigh. Feel free to email or tweet to any of the other representatives on the committee. Who knows, you might get them to tweet something damaging! Politicians these days seem to have a knack for it.

SCRIPT/ACTIONS:

Submit a public comment about redistricting and fair maps on NCGA website NOW: http://bit.ly/2tT4sIH

In addition, you can email feedback to: 2017houseredistricting@ncleg.net and2017senateredistricting@ncleg.net

Written comments can be mailed to: Redistricting, 300 N. Salisbury Street, Suite 545, Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

Suggested script, personalize and pick a few points (we don’t want them to dismiss us as using form letters): As an NC voter, I support districts that accurately represent ALL the citizens of the state. I want to see these criteria used to create maps for NC Senate and House and US Congressional districts that represent ALL NC citizens, not just those of one party:

Compliance with the US Constitution and the Voting Rights Act (VRA) of 1965

Districts with equal population to the greatest extent possible

Districts that are geographically compact and contiguous

Boundaries that respect communities of interest; specifically areas with shared social and economic interests, such as those shared by an agricultural community, an industrial area, or an area in which people share local natural resources for their livelihood (for example, fishing in coastal areas)

Competitive districts to the greatest extent possible, as long as there’s no detriment to other criteria

Districts that are NOT established with the major purpose of diluting the voting strength of any people or groups, including any political party

The residence of any incumbent or political candidate should NOT be considered.

Districts should NOT be drawn for the purpose of favoring or discriminating against any incumbent, political candidate, or political party.

Email addresses for committee members:

David.Lewis@ncleg.net,  John.Bell@ncleg.net,  Darren.Jackson@ncleg.net,  Sarah.Stevens@ncleg.net,  John.Szoka@ncleg.net,  John.Torbett@ncleg.net,  Bill.Brawley@ncleg.netCecil.Brockman@ncleg.net,  Justin.Burr@ncleg.net,  Ted.Davis@ncleg.net,  Jimmy.Dixon@ncleg.netJosh.Dobson@ncleg.net,

Nelson.Dollar@ncleg.net,  Andy.Dulin@ncleg.net,  Jean.Farmer-Butterfield@ncleg.net,  Elmer.Floyd@ncleg.net,  Terry.Garrison@ncleg.net,  Rosa.Gill@ncleg.net , Holly.Grange@ncleg.net,  Destin.Hall@ncleg.net,  Edward.Hanes@ncleg.net,  Jon.Hardister@ncleg.net,  Pricey.Harrison@ncleg.net,  Kelly.Hastings@ncleg.net,  Julia.Howard@ncleg.net,  Howard.Hunter@ncleg.net,  Pat.Hurley@ncleg.net,  Linda.Johnson2@ncleg.net,  Bert.Jones@ncleg.net,  Jonathan.Jordan@ncleg.net,  Chris.Malone@ncleg.net,  Mickey.Michaux@ncleg.net,  Rodney.Moore@ncleg.net,  Garland.Pierce@ncleg.net,  Robert.Reives@ncleg.net,  David.Rogers@ncleg.net,  Jason.Saine@ncleg.net,  Michael.Speciale@ncleg.net,  Shelly.Willingham@ncleg.net,  Michael.Wray@ncleg.net,  Larry.Yarborough@ncleg.net 

Twitter handles for redistricting committee members:
@RepDavidRLewis @JohnBellNC, @DarrenJNC, @repsarahstevens, @JohnSzoka, @JohnTorbett, @BillBrawley, @CecilBrockman, @RepJustinBurr, @RepTedDavisJr, @JoshDobson85th, @NelsonDollar36, @adulin, @RepJFB, @RepFButterfield, @Rep_Rosa_Gill, @RepHollyGrange, @DestinHall, @EdHanes4NC, @JonHardister, @priceyharrison, @kellyhastings1, @juliahowardnc, @rephowardhunter, @lindapjohnson, @Jordan4NCHouse, @chrismalone3, @romo1963, @NCLegBlkCaucus, @electreives, @JasonSaine97th, @RepWray, @larry_rep